Comparison

Recess vs MyStudio

MyStudio is built for martial arts schools first, and unlike most of this category it publishes its prices openly. The real difference is what the plan fee buys. Three plans, unlimited students on all of them, and your own branding sitting on the upper tiers.

Every MyStudio claim on this page was read on MyStudio's own pricing page, and is footnoted below.

Two things up front, so you can leave early

Recess has no monthly platform fee, no add-ons and no setup cost. It earns roughly 5% paid by the member at checkout, with card and bank processing covered by Recess out of that fee.

Recess is not built for chains past about a hundred locations. If that is you, neither of these is the answer, and we would say so on the first call.

Who each one suits, plainly. MyStudio charges one flat price however many students you have, which is genuinely good if you run a large school. Recess charges the studio nothing at all. The question is whether a flat plan fee plus card processing beats a single fee paid by the member.

Side by side

Where the two actually differ.

MyStudio publishes three plan prices and its card rates, which is rarer in this category than it should be. Setup fees, annual pricing, contract length and text message costs are not published.

Recess
MyStudio
Pricing model
Every feature, free, always. No plans, no tiers, no add-ons, no setup cost. Recess earns roughly 5% paid by the member at checkout.
Three plans: Essentials at $79 a month, Growth at $159, Scale at $239. Unlimited students on every plan.1
Processing
0% and $0. Card and bank processing is covered by the pricing model, not charged on top.
2.9% plus 30 cents on cards, 1% on bank transfer, published openly. The plan fee is charged on top, and processing can be passed on to members at checkout.1
What a $100 sale costs
About $5. One fee, paid by the member. Nothing from the studio.
$3.20 in processing, plus at least $79 a month for the plan. Both figures are published, so nothing here is assumed. Taken by bank transfer instead it is $1.00 at their published 1%.1
Programs and seasons
Classes, seasons, camps, afterschool, tournaments, events, privates, appointments, virtual and on-demand, waitlists, make-up credits, rooms, seat maps, check-in kiosk. Enrollment gating on rank, tag, skill, prerequisite, age or membership, so a class is not bookable by someone who is not ready for it.
Scheduling, attendance tracking, point of sale, billing and membership management on every plan. Automation sits on the upper two tiers.1
Families and siblings
Family and team accounts, sibling billing, one balance and one card across the household, shared forms and waivers. Sibling discounts recalculate when a child pauses or leaves; multi-class discounts count by student or by family.
Family and membership management is included on all plans, which matters for a school where three children train under one parent.1
Progression and belts
Belts and stripes, skills and levels, clubs, challenges and points, milestones, leaderboards, certificates, badge artwork, and a member-facing progress view in your own app.
Rank tracking is what MyStudio is built around, and attendance requirements can be tied to rank eligibility. This is the strongest part of their product.1
Marketing and lead follow-up
An AI lead agent that answers, qualifies and books trials on its own, plus lead forms, a pipeline, audiences, tags, sequences, campaigns, pop-ups and discounts.
Automation and their follow-up tooling sit on the upper tiers, not on Essentials at $79.1
Staff and payroll
Automated substitute finding, shifts, clock in and out, pay rates by class type or head count, payroll reporting, roles and permissions.
Staff and attendance handling is included. Payroll depth is not described at plan level on their pricing page.1
Branded member app
Included. On the App Store, under your own name, on every account. Not a web wrapper and not an add-on.
A member app on every plan. Branding customisation is an upper-tier feature, so putting your own name on it means moving up from the $79 entry plan.1
Switching
Automated migration run by our team, from MyStudio, Mindbody, Momence, Walla, Arketa, Glofox and others.
Not described on their pricing page. Migration terms are not published.1
The one reason to stay on MyStudio

One flat price however many students you have. A school with six hundred students pays the same as a school with sixty. Against software that charges by active member count, that is a real advantage. It is the honest reason to stay, and we would not pretend otherwise.

The other is rank tracking wired into attendance eligibility. If your testing cycle runs on it and your instructors trust it, that is working machinery and moving it has a cost. Weigh that before anything else on this page.

The two reasons to leave

Your own app, on the App Store, under your own name, included. On MyStudio a member app ships on every plan, but putting your own branding on it is an upper-tier feature, so the cheapest route to an app that looks like yours is not the $79 plan.

And every feature, free, permanently. No plan to choose and nothing waiting on a higher tier. Automation and lead follow-up, the things a growing school reaches for first, sit on the upper tiers at MyStudio and are included from day one on Recess.

The money

What you actually pay.

MyStudio publishes three numbers: $79 a month for Essentials, $159 for Growth and $239 for Scale, with unlimited students on all three. Credit where it is due, most of this category publishes nothing at all.

Do the plan fee and the card fee stack? Yes. The plan is a monthly subscription and processing is charged per sale on top, at 2.9% plus 30 cents on a card or 1% on a bank transfer.

What they do not publish is the rest of the bill. Setup fees, annual pricing and contract length are not stated, and texting is listed as an add-on without a price. Ask for all four in writing before you sign.

Their own published rates · a $30 class
Class price$30.00
Card processing at 2.9% + 30c−$1.17
Same sale by bank transfer at 1%−$0.30
Paid out on the card sale$28.83

Scale that to a $100 sale and processing is $3.20, leaving $96.80, with the monthly plan fee on top. By bank transfer it is $1.00, leaving $99.00. Both rates are their own published figures, not an assumption.

Recess is one thing at one price. No plan to choose, no seat count, no setup fee, nothing behind a paywall inside the product. Recess earns a service fee of approximately 5% paid by the member at checkout, with card and bank processing covered by Recess out of that fee.

That is not automatically cheaper for you, and we would rather say so than have you find out. If you would rather absorb the cost yourself and keep the checkout total clean, a monthly subscription is a different trade. Do the arithmetic on your own volume before believing anyone, including us.

Your numbers

Put your own volume in.

Their side uses the published entry price of $79 a month, plus their own published card rate of 2.9% and 30 cents. Both numbers come from MyStudio's pricing page, so nothing on this calculator is assumed.

What do you bring in each month?
$18,000
Thank you! Your submission has been received!
Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.
$2k$150k
How many locations?
1
Thank you! Your submission has been received!
Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.
110 sites
MyStudio planEssentials, published entry price$948a year
Card processingTheir published rate, 2.9% + 30c$6,264a year
RecessNo plan fee, no processing billed to you$0a year
Stays in your account instead
$7,212
every year, at their entry price

Your members pay a service fee of about 5% at checkout on Recess, which is how the software is free for you. That is a real trade rather than a free lunch, and the point of this is that you can see both sides of it.

Questions

What owners ask when they are weighing this up.

Is Recess actually free, or is that a trial?

Actually free, permanently, with every feature included. There is no plan to choose and nothing behind a higher tier. Recess earns a service fee of approximately 5% paid by the member at checkout, and card and bank processing is covered out of that rather than billed to you on top.

MyStudio charges one price for unlimited students. Is Recess cheaper?

Not automatically, and it depends on your price per student. MyStudio at $239 a month is $2,868 a year flat. Recess costs the studio nothing, but your members pay about 5% at checkout. Work out 5% of your annual collections and compare the two numbers honestly. At high volume their flat fee can win, and we would rather you did that sum now.

Does Recess charge extra for text messages, marketing, reporting or a branded app?

No. There is one version of Recess and it includes messaging, sequences, campaigns, lead capture, reporting, staff, payroll, multiple locations and your own branded client app published under your own listing.

Does Recess handle belts and ranks as well as MyStudio?

Belts, stripes, testing days and a ladder you define yourself, plus skills, clubs, milestones and a progress screen in your own app. MyStudio's rank work is more tightly wired to attendance eligibility, and if that specific automation is central to your testing cycle it is worth weighing.

I am opening a new school. Which one should I start on?

Recess, and it is not a close call. Every feature is included from day one, so a school that has not taken its first payment gets the same software as one with six hundred students, with no plan fee to carry while you fill your first classes.

I am one location with about a hundred students. Am I too small?

No. Independent single-location schools are exactly who Recess is built for, and there is no monthly fee to justify at that size. The size we are wrong for is the other end, past about a hundred locations.

Where these numbers came from

Every MyStudio claim on this page was read on MyStudio's own pricing page, not from review sites or summaries, on 3 October 2026.

Sources: the MyStudio pricing page, for the three plan prices, unlimited students on every plan, the 2.9% plus 30 cents card rate, the 1% bank transfer rate, the member app and branding tiers, and the note that processing can be passed to members at checkout.

Where this page says a figure is not published, that means it was not stated on MyStudio's pricing page on the date above. Setup fees, annual pricing, contract length and text message costs all fall into that group.